Posted by: Erica Retrochef | May 6, 2013

Humpty-Dumpty in a Dish

Over the last week, I managed to finish three projects and conclude my academic year. We also went through the emotional rollercoaster of losing our cat (who’s lived indoors for all of her eleven years), then finding her five days later at the county animal shelter. She was gone so long I had basically convinced myself that she was dead, so having her back is a huge relief. While outside, she lost a lot of weight (a combination of dehydration and no scavenging skills), so she’s no longer quite as round… although she’s been stuffing her face to recover her kittenish figure.

So, in honor of little “Juevo,” we’re having some eggs for dinner this week!

ad

Remember last week’s bizarrely sweet Yeast-Riz crust? To my surprise, I’ve managed to find another Yeast-Riz pie — and whaddyaknow, I’ve got a spare Yeast-Riz crust sitting in the fridge!

(For the Yeast-Riz Crust instructions, see last week’s “He-Man Ham Buffet” recipe test. It’s worth noting, though, that the sugar measurement isn’t some printing error, they actually expect you to use six tablespoons of sugar.)

Egg-and-Pepper Filling

Place 5 sliced hard cooked eggs in “Yeast-Riz” Crust. Over low heat melt 1/4 cup Blue Bonnet Margarine. Add and blend thoroughly 2 tablespoons enriched flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper and 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard. Slowly add 3/4 cup milk, stirring constantly to keep mixture smooth. Cook until sauce thickens and is satiny smooth. Add sauce alternately with 1/2 cup grated American cheese, 1 tablespoon chopped green pepper and 1 tablespoon chopped pimiento to egg slices in crust. Bake in moderate oven at 350° F. for 15-20 minutes. Makes 4-6 servings.

Maybe eggs and cheese will be better suited to a sweet pie crust?

ingredients

When everything’s together, it looks a little complicated.

butter

I really like making a roux. There’s just something fantastic about how a couple tablespoons of butter and flour can thicken a sauce so well.

flour

Dry mustard is great in sauces, and I frequently use it in macaroni and cheese to add a bit of flavor.

dairy

After cooking the flour well, pour in the milk, and it becomes thicker almost immediately. Roux-magic!

eggs

The eggs are rather unevenly sliced, but I don’t think it will matter in the final pie.

filling

I like the colorful filling, to be honest. It looks very promising.

gloop

And then, we cover it with mustard sauce gloop!

baked

Melty cheese and lightly browned sauce mean this is done.

serving

This has interesting potential as a sort of egg salad pie, but a few things need to be changed. Less white sauce, it just gets greasy. Fresh red pepper, not pimiento. Cheddar, not American. And PLEASE use a different crust, because Pilsbury’s Yeast-Riz disaster just ain’t right. If you can get past the feeling of caloric overload, and avoid eating any crust, this is a pretty intriguing pie.

Posted on Flickr by lobstar28

Responses

  1. Congratulations on getting your kitty back! I know how nightmarish losing a pet that way can be!….As for the recipe, I think back when it was written, homemakers used pimento and American cheese as a matter of convenience, I think fresh bell peppers weren’t readily available in markets as they are today. Perhaps American cheese was more ubiquitous than cheddar? And people thought nothing of eating lots of eggs, a cheap abundant source of protein. But that crust again! Really! Definitely a different crust and this pie would be better.

    • I remember that in the early 1980s that red bell peppers were strictly a seasonal item at the grocery stores where my family shopped. They were expensive but a real treat, since they are so much more flavorful than the green peppers (which were available year-round).

      I don’t think cheddar cheese was ever in short supply, however. I am persistently puzzled by the appearance of American cheese in these recipes. While American is good for grilled cheese sandwiches, its other applications seem to be rather limited.

  2. When I was young, Velveeta was one of the major food groups in the house. Cheddar had a reputation of not melting nicely, being grainy when cooked, suitable for appetizers only.

    • Yes, I remember Velveeta commercials on television that made those precise points.

  3. If the sugar makes is so bad can’t it just be cut out and only a little bit used to feed the yeast? I change recipes all the time due to personal preferences and allergies. (No bell pepper for me, I like being able to breath and not having a swollen throat!) I know in your case you’re trying to recreate but after you do that then couldn’t you try tweaking it?

    • I do a lot of substitutions and tweaking on many of these recipes — for example, “milk” is often a non-dairy (soy or almond) substitute, because of a family member’s allergy. However, I rarely adjust measurements as far as I think the sugar would have to be (more like 2 tbsp is my guess) prior to the first cooking.

      In this particular case, I didn’t like either of the yeast-riz pie fillings well enough that I am yearning to make them again… so unless Fleischman’s Yeast wants to sponsor a series on it, I probably won’t be perfecting their recipe in the near future :D (I love hearing about my readers or fellow bloggers who do their own interpretations, though, so let me know if you’re ever feeling adventurous enough to bake one!)

  4. So glad you found your kitty. That makes your recipe tolerable.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

