Posted by: Erica Retrochef | December 11, 2008

Pecan Confections

One of my standard holiday recipes is Rum Balls. I don’t remember where my brother and I turned that recipe up, which means it was nowhere special, unusual, or memorable. But it’s got booze, sugar, and chocolate, and so it’s a recipe which is an almost universal favorite.

I usually try to make some additional recipe in addition, but so far have not come across any which are “must have” as the rum balls are. This year, I am merging my penchant for Retro Recipe Making with my holiday cooking, and decided to try a recipe from the grandmother of Retro-Food.com‘s proprietress: Pecan Confections

Pecan Confections

Pecan Confections

Beat 1 egg white to a stiff froth. Add gradually 1 cup brown sugar mixed with 1 tablespoon flour and 1/8 tsp salt. Fold in 1 cup chopped pecans. Drop by teaspoons on greased cookie sheet. Bake in slow oven, 300 F., for 15 min. Cool a little before removing from cookie sheet. Makes 2 dozen.

Aside from not really knowing exactly what a “slow oven” is, this looked very easy. So I looked up what “slow oven” means in Twenty Lessons of Domestic Science (1916)

Slow Oven : Temperature is about 250 to 300 degrees Fahr.

(seriously, that’s all?) and then got started…

Chopped Pecans

I wouldn’t recommend beating egg whites by hand. Luckily I now have a seriously awesome mixer. 🙂

Whipped Egg Whites

Mixing in the brown sugar decreases the poofiness (and stiffness) of the egg white froth, but it still has some structure. Once the pecans are folded in, the batter looks like a very appropriate filling for a pecan pie.

pecan confections batter

Ready to bake...

And indeed, that’s very much what it tastes like — delicious little pecan pie bites without that pesky pie crust. They’re incredibly tasty, and will I have to make more so I have some to give out like I originally intended. This batch went fast!

mmm cookies

Responses

  1. May have to try these. I LOVE pecan pie. 🙂

  2. They really do taste just like miniature pecan pie snacks. And I agree with Erica that the crust in regular pecan pie can be a distraction from the nutty, brown sugary taste; that’s an area where these represent a definite improvement. It’s impossible with a small free-standing cookie to completely recreate the gooey texture of the underlayers in a proper pecan pie, but these confections do have a nice, soft texture. (I suppose that means one must be careful not to overbake them to preserve their chewy quality then.)

  3. Are “pecan confections” the same thing as divinity? I remember making that as a kid, and it was a similar meringue-y kind of thing, but I don’t have the recipe anymore.

  4. I’m not sure, because the last time I had divinity I was 14 and it wasn’t homemade. I’ll have to look up a recipe for that and try 😀

  5. Glad to provide inspiration for further retro-recipe experimentation! I’ll have to ask my mom if she has a divinity recipe…perhaps we could both try it out and compare notes. (Any excuse to make candy, I say…)

  6. Yummmm those look good.

  7. I am so glad you made these and took all the great pictures.

    They are pretty addictive.

  8. I don’t know if it’s the same as divinity but those do sound divine, and would be great for the holidays


Leave a Reply

Categories

