Posted by: Erica Retrochef | January 26, 2009

Bread Pudding

This is rather cheating; bread pudding, while certainly an old recipe, isn’t one that has very much fallen out of favor. But it’s my category and I will do what I like. And I like bread pudding.

I first encountered bread pudding at an upscale breakfast buffet in Cincinnati. I was only eight at the time, so my idea of “pudding” was “Jell-O, preferably chocolate” — the idea of pudding that tasted like bread wasn’t very appealing. Its appearance wasn’t inspiring, either. As an adult, I kick myself for that, because I would have adored the soft, sweet conglomeration that bread pudding truly is.

One thing Buzz observed as we cooked this was that it’s a lot like stuffing. You take dry bread crumbs (or chunks) which are otherwise inedible, mix them with spices and liquid, bake for a while; you end up with a delicious soft bread. The difference between the two dishes is that bread pudding is sweet where stuffing is savory; instead of chicken stock, you add custard.

Mix together 2 cups milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg. Cut (or tear) old bread into chunks until you have 2-3 cups worth. Challah makes this absolutely amazing, but any nice white bread will do.

ingredients

Let bread chunks soak up the milk and eggs for about 10 minutes, then stir it around some more.

mixed

Bake at 350°F for 45-60 minutes, until the top is lightly browned. This is when my younger self would be underwhelmed.

cooked

Trust me — the taste is better than the unimpressive appearance! The preparation is simple, and you can create variations such as adding raisins or other fruit into the mix, because if you have fruit it cancels out all those fat and sugar calories… doesn’t it?

Responses

  1. Mother often fixed the bread puddin’, and while not the prettiest dish, it was always a crowd pleaser. Bread pudding has not touched this lips in years. Might have to try this experiment on the family.

  2. should be “these lips”

  3. Yeah, it definitely isn’t pretty. Still, if you say it tastes good …!

  4. Thanks for the recipe–I’ve got some old Pannetone in my fridge that is very stale but seems to special to just throw away. I’ll give this a whirl!

  5. “Pudding” in certain parts of the world (like England) refers to the dessert course in general, not just one particular dish that we Americans call pudding.


Leave a Reply

Categories

