Posted by: Erica Retrochef | February 21, 2011

“Fresh Up” with Seven-Up!

I knew I had to make this for the kids when I saw it on Expo Lounge. They didn’t appreciate it, though…

Mix chilled 7-Up and cold milk in equal parts, by pouring the 7-Up gently into the milk. Do not stir. The 7-Up adds a light and delicate flavor making a delicious blended food drink.

I have no idea what a “blended food drink” is really supposed to be. But that’s nothing compared to the rest of the ad:

Mothers know that this is a wholesome combination.

Now, I do have a pretty good idea of what wholesome is supposed to be: “conducive to bodily health.” That can apply to the milk, but the soda? Nuh-uh.

Anyway, this is (obviously) easy to make. Pour soda into milk. Make a kid drink it. Done!

The addition of 7-Up gives milk a new flavor appeal that especially pleases children.

The kids liked it, but when I asked if they wanted more, they requested the milk be left out. They weren’t “especially pleased.” Flavor-wise this is fairly mediocre, but their asinine claim that it’s wholesome is what disgusts me.

Responses

  1. A few days after we served them this, I was moving the 7-Up bottle, and the three-year-old told me, “I want that in my milk!” Perhaps he had figured out that he wasn’t going to get the 7-Up any other way (since we hadn’t served him any in the meantime).

  2. Eew. You know you’re in trouble when they have to put “food” in the description, as if to assure you that yes, it really is edible — see also “processed cheese food” and “potted meat food product.”

  3. Reminds me of the health claims that the Nutella folks are making. From their website: “Fat is an essential nutrient and necessary for a number of reasons, including providing taste and increasing satiety.”

  4. I can see why this didn’t catch on!

  5. This ad is from back in the days when 7up had lithium in it. Seriously, it had a mood-stabilizer in it, that’s why their slogan was “Fresh Up” for a while. I suppose mixing it in your children’s milk was a way to keep them happy and cheerful!

    • I think this actually dates from slightly after when they took out the lithium citrate (1950) — but that certainly would have added a whole extra layer of “wholesome” to this “delicious blended food drink!” Yeesh!

  6. […] Molasses milkshakes are also great for kids! Just look at those adorable smiles. And we’ve got a great track record with adding junk to milk. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

