Posted by: Erica Retrochef | March 31, 2011

For more retro recipe entertainment…

There’s somebody else crazy enough to make retro recipes! Like macaroni with peanut butter!

Then I took a taste and got a little miffed. Why? Well, you culinary veterans have probably already figured out that the recipe was for, duh, ketchup. That’s right. I had just spend 30 minutes making ketchup. I should have guessed with the cloves and everything, but I was still surprised when I tasted it.

Thankfully, it was at least good ketchup, so I was relieved. About a second later I was afraid, because THIS ketchup is meant to go OVER the peanut butter noodles. Gross.

And Jellied Tongues! Yes, world, somebody else has been crazy enough to actually combine meat, gelatin, and hard-boiled eggs — and then admit it on a public blog.

So go have a browse around Mid-Century Menu. Bon appetit!

Responses

  1. Half of me wants you and her to get progressively more and more competitive, seeing who can cook the craziest, most distasteful retro dishes. ‘Cause that would be hilarious! Then the other half of me points out that I (and her husband, Tom) have to eat these things when they’re done.

  2. Oh my god!!! It’s on now!!!! 🙂 Email me, and we can work out some sort of competition that will be both hilarious and disgusting.

    Glad you like the blog! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

