Posted by: Erica Retrochef | February 20, 2012

Festive Chicken Salad Log

The second part of our Super Bowl Party, to go nicely with the Meat Pops, was a Festive Chicken Salad Log. This sounded promising, since it’s a real recipe rather than something created by a marketing department.

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup mayonnaise or salad dressing
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 cups finely cut-up cooked chicken
2 hard-cooked eggs, chopped
1/4 cup sliced green onions (2 to 3 medium)
3 green pepper rings
1 tablespoon toasted sesame seed
3 tablespoons chopped green onion or green pepper
3 tablespoons chopped pitted ripe olives
3 tablespoons chopped pimiento, drained
Crackers or bread rounds

Mix cheese, mayonnaise, lemon juice, salt, ginger, pepper and pepper sauce. Stir in chicken, eggs and 1/4 cup onions. Shape into log, 8×2 inches. Wrap in plastic wrap; refrigerate until firm about 4 hours.

Cut green pepper rings to make strips. Place strips diagonally across log, dividing into fourths as pictured. Sprinkle sesame seed on 1 section. Repeat with 3 tablespoons onion, the olives and pimiento on remaining sections. Serve with crackers. 10 to 12 servings.

Typically I would just get canned chicken for such a recipe, but I had some about-to-go-off chicken in the fridge that needed to be cooked and used for something. And after a quick poach, it turned out to be a lot tastier than canned chicken anyway — so, yay.

I love having everything prepped ahead of time, so I can just concentrate on cooking instead of measuring.

The sauce has a fairly large number of ingredients.

Much like the meat pop sauce, the cream cheese was hard to smoothly blend in.

I like hard-boiled eggs in a chicken salad, so I’m encouraged by the ingredients.

This was pretty hard to shape into a log, because it was really gooey. I also think we cut the green peppers a little too widely.

Pimentos, olives, green onions, and sesame seeds were sprinkled in their appropriate sections.

(I did forget to toast the sesame seeds, but I don’t think it made much difference.)

This was pretty good! It worked nicely as party food, although trying to scoop directly from the log with a cracker often got messy, and the tasty toppings were eaten far more quickly than the majority of the log. But, the leftovers also worked nicely for chicken sandwiches for Monday lunchboxes.

This Festive Chicken Salad Log comes from 1975 and was shared with the Internet by Vintage Recipe Cards.

Responses

  1. I concur, this looks yummy! The food photo people must have put it together with gloves on or something, though; I’ve tried just making plain cream-cheese based dip, and there really is no way to get it looking quite as neat as theirs without a lot of hands-on. Or, hands in.

    And wow, I bet those leftovers were excellent. I think I might just dump all of these ingredients into sandwich makings and skip the log.

  2. Can’t we just go back to the Meat Pops?

    I like chicken fried. Or baked. Or grilled. Or pan seared. Blackened, smothered, cacciatore, broiled, but I simply can’t ‘do’ cold chicken in anything like this.

    (rolling his eyes and doing his best 5 y/o imitation…EEEWWWW! yuck mom!)

    My better half loves chicken salad. Especially the chicken salad from our favorite Lebanese Restaurant / Deli. (Neomonde on Beryl Rd. Raleigh, NC! and no I won’t get free stuff now) I can ‘make’ a chicken salad that’s with a gnats whisker of theirs after massaging a recipe I made up, based on theirs. It occurred to me after making myriad other recipes and getting this one right, and everyone raving about it, I just don’t like chicken salad or chopped up cold chicken!

    And it only took me 40 years to do so. So, please, can’t we just go back to the Meat Pops? THOSE I like!

  3. I love any recipe with the words ‘festive,’ ‘deluxe,’ ‘surprise,’ or ‘delight’ in the name.
    I would love this.
    KUDOS!

  4. Wow. You’re so brave to actually make this.

  5. Ooo, another winner! This reminds me of a similar recipe back when I was a teenager, decades ago, lol! I had a cookbook for young people put out by Seventeen Magazine called, duh, Seventeen Magazine Cookbook. I WISH I still had it. It had a lot of recipes for party food similar to the Festive Chicken Salad Log. There was a ‘cake’ of white bread, chicken salad, etc. frosted with cream cheese and beautifully decorated with veggies and green onion leaves cut to look like flowers. I wonder if such things are still made now for dinner parties or whatever? Maybe not, easier to open a bag of chips and a container of dip…Thanks for jogging my memory!

  6. This looks awesome and totally mid-century party food! I don’t think the shape was bad at all. Once you got the crackers on I think it turned out almost exactly like the picture!

    • I snapped the last picture from farther away than usual not just to get the meat pops in the frame, but also to make it harder to see how lumpy the edges of that chicken cheese log really were. It really did surprise me how much it stuck to our fingers are we were molding it. That made it tricky to form, but it also made it really easy to get the garnish to stick to the outside, even the absurd quantity of sesame seeds.

  7. I have this set of cards and have made this chicken salad log for every Christmas since the cards came out. It’s the biggest hit of all, but I use different colors of bell peppers to add more variety to the appearance. The red has the best flavor. I lost this one card from my set, and I’m so thankful to see it here. Thank you!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

