Posted by: Erica Retrochef | April 16, 2012

All-Bran Fudge Squares

I really do enjoy this blog more when I manage to update regularly. Doubtless you do, too! So, in the spirit of regularity…

All-Bran Fudge Squares! That’s right, All-Bran wants to convince you that its twig-like texture is ideal for a tasty chocolate dessert.

Honestly, I have a hard time just accepting that at face value. We are talking about a cereal that looks like mulch, after all. But I do like a good bran muffin, so maybe this won’t be so bad after all.

KELLOGG’S ALL-BRAN FUDGE SQUARES

3 squares unsweetened chocolate
1/3 cup butter
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup flour
1/2 cup Kellogg’s All-Bran
1/2 cup chopped nut meats
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Melt chocolate over hot water and add butter. Beat eggs well, add sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Add melted chocolate and butter. Stir in flour, All-Bran, nut meats and flavoring. Pour into greased pan, making a layer about one-third inch thick. Bake in moderate oven (375° F.) about 20 minutes. Yield: Sixteen 2-inch squares (8 x 8 inch pan).

In bran muffin recipes, the bran cereal is typically pre-soaked (often in milk) to soften it up. There’s no soaking involved here… which is slightly worrying.

Step 1: Very fluffy sugary eggs!

We were unsure about how much chocolate to use. Are modern baking chocolate squares the same size as mid-century baking chocolate squares? Hopefully yes. (Luckily, we had three left.)

I realized only after I started writing this blog post that we’d misread the recipe and used 1/2 cup of butter instead of 1/3 cup. I doubt that made a huge difference, though.

Once combined with the sugar and eggs, it got deliciously chocolatey.

The dry ingredients didn’t make this terribly dry; it was still quite moist. In fact, it looked a lot more like brownie batter than fudge batter to me…

It baked up like brownies, too.

And tasted like brownies! Definitely not fudge.

I personally prefer my brownies to be more fudgy than cakey, but hey, it’s still a brownie. Delicious, chocolatey noms. And the interesting thing about the texture — I could tell when I got a bite with All-Bran in it, but since the brownies were all full of nuts, my brain just assumed it was a crunchy walnut. If I hadn’t mixed it together myself, I doubt I’d suspect this was a high-fiber snack!

Originally posted to Flickr by Eudamonius.

Responses

  1. No pre-soaking, and it was stil tasty!?!?!? This one I’ve gotta try… They LOOK fabulous. Color me shocked.

  2. They not only look yummy, they will give you that get up and go feeling – I would keep that in mind and tell the family to proceed eating – with caution!

  3. These were heavenly after an overnight flight and six hours of waiting for my next connection in the Nice airport. I didn’t miss the fudginess at all!


Leave a Reply

Categories

