Posted by: Erica Retrochef | April 30, 2012

Egg Nests

It’s often nice to have breakfast-for-dinner, especially since we’re usually so rushed in the mornings that we don’t have eggs and bacon very frequently. And today, we’re actually doing a recipe that was advertised as lunch… so this is breakfast-lunch-dinner. Or, blinner. (Budget blinner, no less.)

Egg Nests!

4 slices buttered toast
4 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. butter or margarine

Preheat oven to 350°F. Place hot buttered toast on baking sheet.

Separate egg yolks and whites, keeping yolks in half of the shell for later use.

Beat egg whites and salt until stiff, but not dry, and pile on toast slices. Make a well in the centre of each pile of egg white. Slip yolk into each well. Top with 1/2 tsp. butter or margarine.

Bake 15 minutes, or until whites are lightly browned and yolks are set. Serve at once with salad, milk and fruit. Makes 2-4 servings.

Eggs on toast, what’s not to like? But what I’m really wondering about with this recipe is whether it’s going to be worth the bother of separating eggs, beating the whites, and assembling everything on the bread.

There aren’t many ingredients, and they aren’t terribly expensive or exotic. (In fact, it looks like a lot more ingredients than it is, since I had to separate the eggs!)

I expected to have a hard time shaping the egg whites so they’d be able to hold onto the egg yolk. But, despite being a little stiff, they squished into shape nicely.

I took a lot of care to not break the yolks when putting them in the little nests.

A small dab of butter on top, and they were ready to go into the oven.

After fifteen minutes, they were beautifully lightly browned — but the yolks still looked suspiciously shiny, like they’d run all over the place as soon as you poked them.

We served the egg nests with bacon and a nice romaine salad…

Despite the shiny appearance, the egg yolks were quite solid — about the consistency of a hard-boiled yolk. These were good! Egg nests are surprisingly filling; I had been planning smoothies for dessert (to fulfill the “milk and fruit” serving suggestion), but we were all way too stuffed. The recipe could do with a bit less salt in the whites, as well. But overall, everybody really enjoyed the meal. It’s simple, cheap, and satisfying.

This 1977 egg recipe was originally scanned and shared on JB’s Warehouse and Curio Emporium.

Responses

  1. These look nice. I would want the egg centres wet though (like a poached egg on toast would be- I guess that’s what the fluff reminds me of).

  2. Despite the suspiciously ORANGE color of the baked whites in the 70’s picture, these looked kind of neat – mainly because I like playing with egg whites. Imagine what a little pepper or onion powder would do for these – yum. You’ve had some real winners lately, and I seriously want to try this one, too.

  3. While it wouldn’t have looked as nice, I think it would have been better if the yolk had been more spread out. One of the problematic things about eggs cooked with hard yolks (e.g. sunny side up) is how you only get it in a couple bites.

  4. I think when I do it, I’m also going to put a piece of cheese beneath the egg puff. These would be really fun for a brunch item where you’re going for a special-looking, but basically simple dish.

    • The moisture of the margarine under the egg whites was very valuable to this recipe, keeping it from getting too dry. Something a bit more substantial like cream cheese would probably be a good idea there too.

  5. I made these when I was a teen. (Bad memory, my ogre of a mother yelled at me for ‘wasting good ingredients’ on something ‘no one is going to eat’. Well, I did, and had fun making them.) But I’m glad they worked out well for you, they are a nice change for lunch.

  6. Really neat recipe! I love that you have pictures with it. I just started a retro recipe blog BUT I am disabled and live with a Chihuahua so I don’t try out the recipes 🙂 Your blog is excellent and I will be back and I WILL share it with fb Thank you for your efforts!

  7. These sound and look divine, and I’m not an egg fan. A bit worky for everyday meals perhaps, but a lovely dish for company or parties.

  8. I’ve had this in France–done without the bread, in a ramekin, with some pecorino shavings and a little paprika. Then I started making it at home. It’s good!

  9. This is now a trendy new “it” dish, know called Cloud Eggs

  10. This is now a trendy new “it” dish, now called Cloud Eggs

    • So it is!!! That’s interesting! (Whipped egg whites, meringue, has been around for untold years. I read a recipe in a Little House On The Prairie cookbook, and they could beat egg whites on a plate with a fork or a knife. Just took a lot of elbow grease.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

