Posted by: Erica Retrochef | May 7, 2012

Cream of Oatmeal Soup

We’ve had an unusual string of successes recently. This is surprising — I’m not sure if I’m subconsciously learning to pick better recipes, because I’m certainly not doing it on purpose. Sure, I avoid things with spam, sardines, gelatin, Veg-All, or canned tomato soup, because they’re just bad ingredients. But is a recipe’s failure due only to a terrible ingredient?

Oatmeal, for example, is a pretty good ingredient. It’s a nice breakfast food on its own, you can make cookies with it, or use oats as filler instead of flour for more interesting flavor (or to feed your gluten-intolerant friends). But I had never heard of it in a soup.

Seriously. Soup.

Cream of Oatmeal Soup

To one cup cooked and strained oatmeal add four cups of highly seasoned chicken or veal stock; season to taste with salt and pepper and a tablespoon of onion juice, one-half tablespoon finely chopped parsley. Bring soup to boiling point; remove from range and add a half cup of scalded cream and the yolks of two raw eggs well beaten; mix well. Do not allow soup to boil after adding yolks of eggs.

I really don’t know WHAT to expect from this.

Well, uh, here’s our soup ingredients. (I used beef bouillon to create the stock, because it’s what I had.)

And that beef stock over the cooked oatmeal… looks pretty weird.

While we were prepping various ingredients, we turned the camera over to our daughter. She got about ten shots of various pants and shirts, about three of Buzz squeezing onion juice, and about twenty of random corners of furniture. Thank goodness for digital media.

It looks like an awful lot of parsley.

After it came off the heat, I poured in the scalded cream…

… and added the yolks.

The result was a bit odd. The basic broth (beef and cream) was good, thanks to using a good bouillon. (Penzeys makes a really great line of “soup bases” that I highly recommend.) But overall, this felt a little insubstantial. The oatmeal provided a nice texture (rather reminiscent of beef barley soup), but there wasn’t enough of it. I doubt I’d make it again, but I enjoyed this. Who would have thought “oatmeal soup” could be tasty?

Oatmeal soup recipe (and beautiful vintage die-cut Quaker Oats Cookbook) shared in honor of National Oatmeal Month on Months of Edible Celebration.

Responses

  1. Cream of …oatmeal.
    0_o

    Some dishes, you know, make sense. The poor people using the leftover bits of bread trenchers gives us bread pudding and then there’s the whole idea of eating organ meats or deep fried intestines and pork crackling. I guess I can see oatmeal as soup… but if you have cream and parsley and eggs and boullion, surely a body could come up with something else!

    On the other hand, I love barley in soup, so…
    Huh. I love my oatmeal, and this seems very close to oat abuse, but if I’m ever stuck for soup ingredients, I might toss in a few pinhead oats and see what happens…

    • Definitely go with some form of oats that will stand up to some boiling. Quick oats would probably be way too squishy šŸ™‚

  2. What do you suppose they meant by “strained” oatmeal? Strained, like baby food is strained (i.e. pureed)? Run through a food mill? That would probably change the texture of the soup considerably. Might also make it taste more “oatmealy”, which I don’t think is necessarily a good thing.

    • We weren’t entirely sure about “strained,” either. After debating the possibilities, we decided to interpret it as “no water,” although that implies that oatmeal was originally made with way too much water (like pasta typically was) rather than just enough to cook it through.

      For practical reasons, this let me avoid gooping up a strainer or my baby food mill. For textural reasons, since I like chunky soups, I’m glad we chose this method.


Leave a Reply

Categories

