Posted by: Erica Retrochef | July 16, 2012

Marshmallow Chocolate Pie

Out of all those advertisements with recipes from days gone by, Wrigley’s made the least effort to incorporate its product line into actual food.

This is, of course, a very good thing. I can’t imagine any pie which would call for spearmint chewing gum.

Marshmallow Chocolate Pie

1 In double boiler, melt 1 lb. marshmallows, 5 sqrs. bitter chocolate, 3/4 cup milk… Cool.

2 Whip 1 pt. whipping cream… Fold in.

3 Put in any baked pie shell. Use 8 inch pie pan… Chill.

The marshmallows really needed to be used up. We got them to roast on the 4th, and this particular brand tends to get really weird and mushy if left (even unopened) on the shelf too long.

See the pale brown chocolate squares here? Those are some older pieces that had been in the cupboard for a while, and bloomed. (Bloomed chocolate is rather unpleasant to eat, since the texture is all wrong, but it’s fine for melting.)

Melting marshmallows is actually fairly slow in a double boiler.

The chocolate melted first.

The marshmallows kept getting smaller and smaller.

Finally, everything had melted together into a delicious chocolatey goo.

And I do mean delicious — five squares of baking chocolate packs a very strong flavor, and even a pound of marshmallows doesn’t oversweeten it.

The whipped cream didn’t help the texture much, but it did smooth out and mellow the chocolate bite somewhat.

The snag came when I poured everything into the pre-baked pie crust… and there was too much goo. It didn’t quite overflow, but it did overtop the crust. (I really need to learn to make better crusts that stick up above the edge of the pie pan.)

I poured the extra into a spare ramekin, planning on giving it to the kids some other time.

Left overnight to cool, it solidified into chocolate marshmallow pie!

Sadly, this didn’t turn out to be quite as delicious as I’d initially expected. The chocolate flavor was excellent, like a really good French silk pie, but the texture was chewy rather than smooth and silky. Texture was awful lot like a marshmallow, of course! I don’t expect to keep this in my recipe file. (But middle child did think it was super-awesome, so he’s going to end up eating most of the rest!)

(I ended up eating the chocolate-marshmallow leftovers myself, with a couple tablespoons of Kahlua poured over the top. MMMMM.)

From the retro recipe collection of Hey, My Mom Used To Make That.

Responses

  1. Hm. I only eat marshmallows after they’ve been put to the flame – and burnt to a crisp – so this had low appeal for me. However!! I knew a boy in college who made a Kahlúa French Silk Chocolate Cheesecake… so the minute you said Kahlúa, I was nodding eagerly.

    That’s why cooking reminds me of painting – just a little swirl of something else, and a “meh” item is much better. (Unless it’s not, and you have to scrape off the canvas and start over…)

  2. I seem to remember having this pie once during the hey day of card playing Saturday nights. As I remember, I wasn’t very fond of it either. Now that I think of it though, doctoring it up with some Kahlua certainly can’t hurt!

    Thanks for sharing, Erica…

  3. […] you’re thinking this looks an awful lot like Marshmallow Chocolate Pie, you’re right — but we’re using straight gelatin, rather than melting down […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

