Posted by: Erica Retrochef | July 23, 2012

Hot Doggities

Hot diggity dog, kiddos, we’re making hot doggities for dinner!

(The cutsieness of the recipe title is killing me, by the way. Hot doggities? Sheesh.)

Silliness aside, this is a moderately well-known recipe. I’ve also seen a version of this partnering Kellogg’s with Heinz Ketchup rather than Reynolds Wrap — in fact, Heinz still lists this recipe in their collection (although they suggest serving with mustard instead of additional ketchup) and it’s been tweaked with modern updates up on The Apron Archives.

1 pound frankfurters
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup KELLOGG’S CORN FLAKE CRUMBS

1. Score surface of frankfurters lightly, spiraling from end to end. Insert wood skewers for extra fun eating.

2. Roll each frankfurter in ketchup, then coat generously with a flavor crust of Kellogg’s Corn Flake Crumbs. Place in shallow baking pan lined with Heavy Duty Reynolds Wrap. Do not crowd.

3. Bake in moderate oven (350° F.) about 15 minutes. Serve with additional ketchup, if desired.

Getting a hot dog onto the skewer is simple.

Getting the hot dog straight on the skewer, that’s a bit harder. It’s not particularly important for it to be straight, but it certainly looks silly.

Spiral-cutting hot dogs on a skewer is kind of fun. You also need to stretch the dog a little bit to open up the crevices.

Oh yeah, Buzz doesn’t like ketchup. So he was pretty upbeat about the whole “hot doggity” idea until he saw me assembling the ingredients. Then he got that resigned look, the one where he seems to be reminding himself that he signed up for this…

1/2 cup of ketchup is WAAAAAAY too much for seven hot dogs — 1/4 would have been enough.

On the other hand, 1/2 cup of crumbs is not nearly enough for seven hot dogs — we crushed another 1/3 cup of cornflakes to coat the whole batch.

But aside from quantity issues, assembling this goes quickly, and it only bakes for 15 minutes.

I did take the skewers out for serving, since metal skewers are sharp and hot. A side of mashed cauliflower, and we were ready to eat.

Hot doggities are definitely designed for kids. Oh, you could fancy them up a bit if you wanted to — maybe use barbecue, or more flavorful crumbs. (I did add some Italian herbs, and I think that helped out a lot.) But no matter how upscale you attempt, it’s still a hot dog on a stick with its “bun” glued on. And they’re lots of fun to eat!

1964 “hot doggities” recipe scanned online by aimeebakes on flickr

Responses

  1. You say this is a fairly well-known recipe? However, I’d never even thought of doing something like this. Things On A Stick are always fun for kids, but I, too, hate ketchup/catsup or any variation thereof. I think Italian seasoning in the crumbs and maybe a pasta sauce would be tasty, or the aforementioned mustard and some sharp herby combo in the crumbs would be right, but ketchup alone, I don’t think I could do… although, I can’t say I’ve ever had it baked. Hm.

    I’d try this with Panko crumbs, too.

  2. Looks like a novelty for small kids and/or a reason to use up cornflakes. I don’t think there’s any use ‘putting lipstick on this pig’, it is what it is, lol. I do think the BBQ sauce would be better than ketchup.

  3. I remember this ad well, Erica. Although, I never did try to replicate it:) Seems like perhaps I should have, I can see why kids would enjoy it!!!

    Thanks for sharing…

  4. You could always omit the stick and call them Frankfurter Fancies

  5. I was looking for this recipe from my childhood, so thanks for posting! My mom made us hotdogs this way all the time…and we loved them. I thought about them today and made some for dinner (with mustard….the ketchup adds a sweetness that we loved as kids, though). Still a tasty hotdog! For those of you crushing corn flakes…FYI, they do sell corn flake crumbs in a box near the bread crumbs. In addition to this recipe, Mom used the corn flake crumbs as a topping for our family favorite…a tuna casserole called “Breakfast, Dinner, and Supper” by my grandmother when she fed it to her 9 kids!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

