Posted by: Erica Retrochef | November 11, 2013

Chicken Hallite

Let’s imagine you’re cooking a nice mushroom sauce over a hot stove. You’re holding a hot lid in one hand and a ladle full of sauce in the other. What should your spouse do right now?

If the thought that immediately came to mind was “grab me from the side and kiss me, appalling our children and risking a burned/sauced arm,” then you probably work for Wear-Ever Aluminum’s advertising department.

ad

That kid is kind of creeping me out.

recipe

1. Simmer 1-1/2 cups rich chicken stock, 1 bay leaf, 1 tablespoon each finely chopped celery and onions, 1/2 teaspoon salt over direct heat 15 minutes; strain.

2. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in top of Hallite combination cooker; add 1/4 diced mushrooms, 2 tablespoons diced green onions, 2 tablespoons flour; blend; add stock.

3. Cook over boiling water, stirring until thick.

4. Serve over fried chicken nested on green noodles.

ingredients

Publix has really tasty fried chicken. I make really mediocre fried chicken. One of these days I’ll try making some retro fried chicken recipes, but today, we’re using Publix. (All I’m really interested in here is whether the sauce works…)

mushrooms

The “pieces and stems” canned mushrooms still weren’t quite as small as I’d hoped, so I chopped them up more.

schmaltz

Apparently we are going to make a roux in a double boiler, which is a feat I’ve never attempted.

ok-roux

I’m pretty skeptical, actually, because my best luck with roux-making tends to be associated very hot butter. The whole point of a double boiler is that it warms something gently, I thought.

goopy

Incidentally, I’ve just added the finely chopped onion and celery to the roux-like goop along with the mushrooms. Since I’m using chicken broth made from scratch, it was well-seasoned (and vegetabled) well before this recipe came to mind.

too-liquid

Oh dear. Look at how liquid this is after adding the broth! The flour was clearly not cooked enough to thicken the sauce (even though I stirred it around in the double boiler for a good ten minutes, and my pan-made roux thickens in under a minute).

chives

Oh well, let’s try to salvage it by adding the chives and dumping this on some chicken and noodles…

serving

I didn’t have — and, to my surprise, couldn’t find at Publix — any green noodles, so we’re using “veggie” noodles that are sort of orange-red and promise to give you one serving of vegetables with your pasta. Weird, but I guess we’re still staying true to the general spirit of the recipe. The lid of the pan comes in either turquoise or copper, so consider this the copper version.

Overall… this tasted ok, and probably would have been a great gravy if the roux had worked. But since it didn’t — and I blame Wear-Ever Aluminum for this, because it’s their cookware they’re telling you to use and therefore their cooking method — it was very runny, and ended up making the fried chicken soggy. Soggy fried chicken is disappointing. The mushrooms and broth flavor were promising; I’d love to try this again in a skillet, thickened properly, because I enjoy a good mushroom sauce.

(Come to think of it, maybe that kid’s shocked expression was caused by his mother miraculously making a roux in a double boiler. I’d have looked like that if the Chicken Hallite had somehow come out right.)

I found the turquoise cookware, housewife, and child in saltycotton‘s Flickr Stream.


Responses

  1. Hallite? To what does that refer? It really looks delicious.

    • “Hallite” was the specific cookware line being sold.

  2. …yeah. The kid is kind of distressing. As is the runny-ness of the roux. Erg.

  3. Maybe you weren’t supposed to cook it over boiling water until after you added the stock? Those instructions could be interpreted a couple of different ways. Poor writing, Wearever!
    And wow, that wife-hug is all kinds of awkward, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

