Posted by: Erica Retrochef | January 20, 2014

Scotch Egg Casserole

Since we apparently learned nothing from our previous 1964 egg recipe, tonight we’re sampling Scotch Egg Casserole, also brought to you by the fine folks of Sunrise Eggs in Australia.

ad

You may be asking, why Scotch eggs? The ad thinks the answer should be “because it’s economical” but “generous, too… generous with body-building, protective protein, vitamins and minerals.”

We think the answer should be “because they’re hilarious, weird, and look like alien eyeballs if you squint at the picture.”

recipe

3 hard-boiled eggs
1/2 lb. sausage mince
1/2 cup tomato puree
1 beaten egg
2 tablespoons flour
2 onions
1 large tomato
1 red pepper
1 tablespoon sweet and sour sauce

To make Scotch eggs, combine sausage mince with beaten egg, flour and seasoning; wrap around halved, hard-boiled eggs; fry in hot fat until brown. Saute chopped tomato, onions, and pepper. Transfer Scotch eggs, tomato, onions, pepper, tomato puree, sauce and seasonings to casserole dish. Thoroughly heat in moderate oven. Serves 3.

ingredients

We have a lot of ingredients here. I’m using bratwurst, which is a pretty mild sausage, because it was on sale. (There are a dozen sitting in the fridge, and this recipe only calls for two, so I think we’re going to eat brats for a few days after this.)

sausage

The sausage has to be mixed with flour and a raw egg… for some reason. (Traditionally, Scotch eggs are breaded, so I assume this is just an adaptation of breading.)

goop

All that egg made the sausage mince extremely runny and sticky, and it was quite hard to get it to stick to the eggs instead of my hands. On the other hand, I think it may have helped make it more malleable and easier to shape around the eggs. It was a weird trade-off.

eggs

Eventually, I managed to get a thin coating of sausage around all the egg halves.

frying

While I washed sausage goop off my hands, Buzz fried them. The sausage started pulling away from the egg instead of staying a nice, solid coating — oh well, it’s going to be covered with sauce, I’m sure that’s fine.

veg

I cut up the onions, pepper, and tomato.

saute

Once the eggs were done frying, we sautéed the veggies in the same oil.

sauce

The vegetables were then mixed with the tomato sauce and sweet and sour sauce, and poured over the eggs.

casserole

The recipe says to heat everything together in the oven for a while, but the Scotch eggs and sauce were both still quite hot. We just took it to the table and served.

serving

I am completely and utterly shocked, but this tasted good. The Scotch eggs were rich and delicious, and the sauce was just the right balance of sweet and savory. Even the kids, who passionately hate onions and tomatoes, ate their vegetables with almost no complaint. (They complained like crazy when they saw onions, but stopped complaining once they tasted them.)

Given how tedious it is to make Scotch eggs, I’d probably adapt this by just frying sausage bits and chopping up some eggs and mixing it all together — but wow, I really want to try this again. The Potato Egg Nests are redeemed.

This 1964 Australian Women’s Weekly ad, scanned by Vivat Vintage, proves that Sunrise Eggs recipes weren’t always terrible.


Responses

  1. I like Scotch Eggs, and this is THE first recipe I’ve EVER seen that calls for halving the eggs.

    Usually you wrap the intact egg, which gives you the ability to squeeze it like a snowball. Then you can, traditionally, deep fry them. Halving them is just weird.

    I wonder if the sausage was not a fine enough grind? I’ll probably try this one, for myself for lunch. My picky eaters wouldn’t touch it, mama don’t do much sausage, but I’m intrigued.

    • I think part of the problem was I just didn’t have enough sausage — limiting to what the recipe called for left us with a very thin coating on each egg, which fell off easily. Bump up the meat content and don’t cut the eggs, could be delish!

  2. I like the “1 TB. sweet and sour sauce”! yeah, throw some in. I always pictured Scotch eggs whole eggs coated with breakfast sausage and deep fried (!). This was a very interesting recipe you made today.

  3. I’d only eaten Scotch eggs once in my life before this recipe, and I’d certainly never cooked them. However, my mental image of them was definitely of whole eggs. Frying these halves was a little frustrating, because they would only admit a thin coating of meat, and it didn’t want to stay in place.

  4. Hahah! Um, yes, I want to chime in on the Scotch eggs. WHOLE EGGS, folks. That’s the only way to go. Also, I don’t know anyone who makes these by hand; in Scotland we had them store-bought on picnics. I daresay they’d be much, much nicer fresh-made and hot and served with onions and tomatoes. Yum.

    • I wouldn’t mind making them from scratch (can’t really get them in America otherwise!) but this recipe seemed awfully skimpy on the sausage… and half eggs, WHY!

  5. Thats so wrong… yet i reckon.. soooo delicious!! Thanks for sharing! http://cookingwithmrfitz.com/?s=scotch+eggs&x=0&y=0

  6. Is this breakfast sausage or Italian?

    • Bratwurst (it’s what we had), so probably closer to breakfast than Italian.

      • Thanks!

  7. Hello! I’m the owner of Vivat Vintage. These recipes always fascinate me when I post them. (I do love how EVERYTHING comes with a whopping great chunk of raw tomato as a garnish though.) There are some horrifying sandwich suggestions from Kraft Cheddar in my queue at the moment. But the recipes I find the worst are ones with “mayonnaise” made out of sweetened condensed milk and mustard powder. *shudder*

    • I’ve got my eye on the milk-mustard thing some time when I run out of mayonnaise. (I’m hoping that’s a long, long time away.)

  8. yea who fry or bake then in the whole egg form then you slice them in half after they are cooked. it also makes a great breakfast dish as well. I like to add shredded cheddar cheese to top it off.


Leave a Reply

Categories

